[poetry] The Real Me

Please!

For the love of all things good.

Heed my simple words:

I don’t have to be pretty.

I don’t need to hide behind

Layers of makeup that don’t

Show me in the least.

I don’t wear the latest fashions.

I don’t drink or go to clubs.

I am who I am and my inner beauty shines.

I’m sorry you don’t like this

Or the way I do my hair.

I’ll never be the cookie cutter girl

And I’ll never do what others

Expect me to do.

I will never be perfect.

I will never be thin.

I may not be accepted but truthfully?

That’s okay with me.

I never claimed to be perfect.

I’ve never claimed to be neat.

I prefer comfort over the latter.

And hey, I like those books I read.

I don’t need your insincerity and

I sure as hell don’t need your drama.

There’s only one thing that I

Could ever want in this world.

I want the world to see the real me

In everything I do.

Leave a Reply

