[fanfic] Honesty is the Best Policy

It’s late and the room is dim with the exception of the lamp by my bedside. I can’t quite seem to settle down and I can’t stop smiling.

You see, there’s this girl and I’ve liked her since we were kids in the Orphanage together. I knew from right then and there that I was meant to be with that girl whose eyes were so full of life. I’ll never leave her and she’s the reason why I gave up chasing skirts.

Really. Irvine Kinneas is officially a retired womaniser thanks to one Selphie Tilmitt. Like, being head over heels in love with your best friend can have a crazy effect on a guy. One second you’d do anything to get a date with the newest, prettiest cadet in Garden and then Selphie came back into my life and reminded me of who was my one and only. I’ll forever hold her above all the others and I’ll treasure her always.

Even as she’s sleeping next to me in a tear-stained mess of a girl and that’s why I can’t stop smiling. After months of telling Selphie that if there was ever anything wrong, she could always come to me, she finally did. I’d told her time and time again that it was okay and she’d just nod her head in that bubbly way of hers. I knew she was keeping things to herself again but she needed to come to me for a change instead of calling her bluff. I suppose you could say that Selphie refusing to talk to others about her problems makes her a bit like Squall. When it comes to themselves, they’re pretty tough nuts to crack.

But love changes people. It makes them trust someone and learn to let them in. Selphie knocked on my door and when I opened the door, she wouldn’t look me in the eyes. Her hands were clasped tightly in front of her and I watched her tighten and loosen her grip several times before I motioned her inside. She muttered a quick “thank you,” and sat herself on the edge of my bed.

“Irvy…” she mumbled shyly.

“What’s up, Sefie?” I asked curiously.

“I…” she began before she lost the words on her mind.

I had placed a hand on her shoulder as I sat down beside her and gave it an encouraging squeeze. Sometimes, my Selphie needs a gentle shove in the right direction.

This was one of those times.

“It’s alright,” I said gently. “You can tell me anything you want to.”

She swallowed nervously after I said that. I’d never seen Selphie this nervous in years and it takes a lot to rile her up sometimes. I could feel the slight tremor in Selphie’s shoulder even if she didn’t realize it as she looked up at me with wide eyes already shining with held back tears. I looked at her with concern before she wrapped her hands around mine as her head drooped. With her bangs covering her eyes I couldn’t tell what she was thinking but her hands were beginning to quake around mine as her head snapped up to look at mine as her cheeks turned a bright shade of pink.

“I like you,” she blurted out after a prolonged silence which left me staring at her for quite some time.

She looked like she was going to cry from the relief of getting that burden off her shoulders as I worked my hands out of her grip. I smiled softly before pulling her into my arms and running a hand through her chestnut brown hair. I could tell that it took more courage than facing down a thousand Ultimecia’s to tell me those three little words and they changed everything. Eventually, she looked up at me shyly and I had to ask, “What is it?”

“I-I wanna talk,” she said seriously.

So something was on her mind after all. “I’m all ears, Sefie. You know that.”

And that was when she started talking about all the things she’d kept to herself. She still refused to talk about her parents but all of us know that she’ll never talk about it because she doesn’t remember it. I sat there and listened for hours until she couldn’t keep her eyes open.

What? Did you honestly think that I was going to take advantage of Selphie? She’d kick my ass in a heartbeat.

And that’s how we wound up in my bed. She curled up against my side, sleeping like a kid who had woken up from a nightmare moments early. I managed to tuck a pillow under her head and pull the blanket around her waist before reaching for my exam guide and began to give it another read.

I vowed on that night that I’d never leave her side. For all of her strength and beauty, Selphie needs someone that will let her be scared and protect her. She needs someone and that someone is going to be me if she’ll let me.

We’ll be honest with each other from now on is what my gut was telling me that night.

Honesty is the best policy after all.

Leave a Reply

